NDSU’s Josh Rodriguez Claims Fourth Bison Open Title, Five Others Pick Up Second

FARGO, N.D. — North Dakota State University 125-pounder Josh Rodriguez won his fourth Bison Open individual championship, while five others each picked up their second titles at the 46th annual event held before 518 spectators in Scheels Arena on Saturday, Nov. 12.

NDSU (1-0, 1-0 Big 12) is scheduled to wrestle No. 18-ranked Oklahoma at 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 20, in Norman. The remainder of the team is scheduled to participate at the Finn Grinaker Open at Concordia College on Saturday, Nov. 19.

Rodriguez, a senior from Guadalupe, Calif. (Righetti H.S.), won Bison Open 125 titles in 2013 unattached, 2015 and 2016 and 133 in 2012. Rodriguez recorded his second pin of the tournament over teammate and unattached Paul Bianchi at 4:56. He went 3-0 at the Bison Open and improved to 4-0 overall.

NDSU had five wrestlers — 149 Kyle Gliva, 165 Andrew Fogarty, 184 Tyler McNutt, 197 Cordell Eaton and 285 Ben Tynan — each won Bison Open individual championships for the second straight year.

North Dakota State unattached 141 Taylor Nein defeated teammate Joe Umlauf 6-4 in the first place match, while Bison unattached 133 Cam Sykora, 165 Grant Nehring, unattached 174 Cole Witzig, 184 Dylan Urbach, 197 Alex Bleeker and 285 Dan Stibral all placed second.

NDSU received third place performances from 141 Tommy Walton, 149 Mitch Friedman, unattached 165 Nick Knutson and 184 Logan Paxton.

Bison Open Results

View More College News

Click Here: NRL Telstra Premiership

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *